Things I wish I’d been told before giving birth..

First of all, I would like to announce the birth of my little man! Born on 5th August and he’s the most perfect precious little thing I’ve ever seen😍

Now, going through labour and birth made me realise that it’s not all sunshine and daisies (bloody far from it) but no one EVER seems to mention the bad bits! Don’t get me wrong, it was all so worth it to have my little man in my arms but dear god I wish I had been told – and I’m only on day 4!!

1. Contractions for me were basically ridiculously bad period pains but they were all in my back so I couldn’t have the epidural to dim down the pain.

2. Pethadine injections sting like a bitch, I actually think the injection hurt more than my contractions. In fact even having two cannulas put in hurt more than the first initial contractions.

3. When they say the ring of fire, dear god they mean ring of fire.

4. Standing up for the first time after I gave birth was so weird, I felt so empty, alone and odd. It was beautiful to see him in my arms kicking but it didn’t feel right to not feel him kicking inside me.

5. You don’t just miraculously shrink back down – yes I’m only 4 days pp but I still look about 16 weeks pregnant.

6. The after pains suck – it’s like a really bad period cramp, I’ve been laid on the settee crying with a hot water bottle, chocolate and painkillers for hours they’re that bad (luckily my partner is keeping an eye on baby).

7. You seriously need to rest as much as you can before, during and after labour because you are EXHAUSTED. As I was induced, I stayed in hospital for a few days so didn’t have much sleep, my labour was 7pm until 5:48am so of course I didn’t sleep then and after the ward I got moved to was so hot and cramped and I got bombarded with visitors, I didn’t sleep either. Then when you’re looking after a new born baby, you literally do not have the time to recover and resting is key to recovery!

8. Do NOT be afraid to tell people that they’re not aloud to visit you until you’re ready. I made the mistake on the first day, although I was in hospital until 8pm, I was bombarded with people and everyone kept picking him up and hardly acknowledging me, I just wanted to take my baby and run to hide in a corner with him. I still have people who forgot I existed messaging me asking me when they can meet him – like they’re bothered now he’s here because it’s a novelty.

9. Keep your best friends (who you know will always support you) and family around because you’re gonna need them. Baby blues kick in, you can hardly walk, you’re hungry and thirsty all the time, you cry at anything and everything – you’re gonna need all the support you can get!

10. Breastfeeding isn’t always best! I managed to BF for two and a half days but it was so so painful, I was crying in pain whenever I tried to feed him, then my milk came in and my boobs were killing, on top of no rest and baby blues and being overwhelmed anyway, it got too much for me. I tried to express but that wasn’t a success either and although I am gutted I can’t BF, all that matters is that my baby is fed, happy and healthy. He had colostrum for the first few days which is the best bit, I’ve tried everything and the formula just makes us both happier and more content.

11. A lot of babies hate being changed, bathed, etc and they will scream like you’re murdering them – hearing them will absolutely kill you inside but it’s ok, you got this mumma, your baby is still perfectly fine💙

12. You will literally cry at everything and anything and then probably cry because you’re crying and feel stupid – it’s a vicious circle and I hope it ends soon, I’m using so many tissues..

13. Your first wee hurts like a bitch but salt baths are a life saver! You’ll also be so scared to have your first poo but luckily for me, it didn’t hurt at all!

14. Finally, don’t push yourself too hard! I’ve actually felt really good considering I’ve just had a baby but after walking round a huge ASDA yesterday and going to register our little man then walking round town today has left me in a lot of pain with my stomach cramps, so the key is to rest rest rest and take it easy, don’t try to be Wonder Woman because you don’t get a medal for it! Let people help you with cleaning, shopping, cooking, etc. Leave the baby things to yourself because you’ll probably hate other people trying to butt in because I know I hate it when people even cuddle him for too long but accept help around the house because you will need it!

I’m sure they’ll be way more in the days to come considering I only gave birth 4 days ago but those are the things I wish I knew before hand!

Cadie xoxo

Leave a comment